Drunk Baked French Toast

Drunk Baked French Toast

It’s been awhile since my last post – so sorry for that! It’s finally Summer in the Midwest, which means it’s vacation time. So I have been away from my oven for a few weekends in a row. On the plus side – one of those vacations was to northern Michigan and involved lots of wine tasting. I had an amazing apple wine that was fruity and crisp, but had the perfect balance of sweetness and booziness. I knew I had to make something with this deliciousness. And so I decided to meld this with my favorite meal of the day – breakfast.

DSC02032.JPG

This baked French toast has six ingredients: cinnamon swirl bread, milk, eggs, wine (oh yeah), cream cheese, and brown sugar. Cream cheese and wine!? Yes, this French toast is super classy.

First I lightly greased a 9×9 baking dish and put one layer of cinnamon bread on the bottom.

DSC02021.JPG

For the second layer, I soaked the bread in the wine. How could this not turn out? Anything involving the words “soaked” and “in wine” is bound to be delicious.

DSC02023.JPG

I then added clumps of cream cheese throughout the second layer of bread. You could also add raspberries or blueberries at this step. I even thought about adding bananas here as well. If it’s something you enjoy in your pancakes or waffles – add here.

DSC02025.JPG

A third layer of bread is added before being drizzled with the custard mixture.

DSC02035.JPG

The bake is then topped off with a liberal amount of brown sugar before being baked for 30 minutes.

DSC02037.JPG

I dusted the French toast with powdered sugar before drizzling with maple syrup.

DSC02048.JPG

This French toast is super creamy and feels like dessert when you get a bite of cream cheese. And it’s got wine – so you can feel super sophisticated when eating it. At least that’s what I told myself when I ate a piece of this midday (like post brunch time midday). Give it a try! You won’t regret it.

DSC02041.JPG

Drunk Baked French Toast

Ingredients

1.25 lb loaf cinnamon swirl bread

1 1/2 C whole milk

4 large eggs

1 C white wine

4 oz cream cheese

1/2 C brown sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a 9×9 baking dish. Line the bottom of the dish with bread. For the second layer of bread, soak the bread in the white wine. After layering the bread in the baking dish take clumps of cream cheese and sprinkle throughout the second layer. Put a third layer of un-soaked bread on top.

In a glass measuring cup, whisk together the milk and eggs. Pour on top of the bread in the baking dish.

Sprinkle the brown sugar on top of the French toast.

Bake for approximately 30 minutes. Serve warm with powdered sugar and maple syrup on top.

xo Sara

 

 

Leave a Reply

