Cocoa, Coffee, and Rock & Roll

Cocoa, Coffee, and Rock & Roll

We went to Rock on the Range this weekend and it was amazing! However, it also meant that I wasn’t going to have access to an oven for baking. So I decided to try this mug cake phenomenon that I keep seeing on Pinterest.

I packed up Tupperware containers of limited amounts of ingredients and hoped for the best. Because I wasn’t going to have access to my pantry, I decided to use a tried and true recipe, so that I wouldn’t have to do the whole three times a charm routine.

The recipe I used is adapted from Vikalinka’s Spiced Pumpkin and Chocolate Cake. The chocolate cake is super moist, so I knew it could stand up to the blast cooking of a microwave.

I cut all of the ingredients by approximately a fourth, and nixed the beer and sour cream. I also used egg beaters because how you quarter an egg – no clue.

First I mixed all the wet ingredients in a separate cup. Then, I mixed all of the dry ingredients in my mug. I’m a coffee drinker, so my mug is on the larger size.

20170522_085833

Then I added the wet ingredients and mixed it all up.

After there were no more clumps of flour, I microwaved for 52 seconds. A few seconds can make all the difference in a microwave. I waited until the cake didn’t rise anymore and then gave it a couple more seconds. So just keep on eye on your cake while it’s microwaving.

20170522_090232The top was slightly domed and moist when I took it out. I stuck a knife in it to make sure it was done (oddly enough I didn’t stick a fork in it…. get it?).

The results were a rich, decadent, chocolate cake. I will definitely be doing this again when traveling and need to satisfy my late-night sweet tooth!

20170522_090323

Cocoa Coffee Mug Cake

Ingredients

1 tbsp. egg beaters

2 tbsp. oil

1 1/2 tbsp. coffee (room temp)

4 tbsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tbsp. milk – 2%

4 tbsp. flour

1 tbsp. cocoa

1/8 tsp. baking soda

In a small measuring cup mix together the egg beaters, oil, coffee, milk, sugar, and vanilla extract. In a separate coffee mug mix together the flour, cocoa, and baking soda. Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Put the coffee mug in the microwave and bake for 45 – 60 seconds depending on your microwave’s power. Remove when cake doesn’t rise anymore and knife inserted comes out clean.

xo Sara

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cocoa, Coffee, and Rock & Roll

  1. Nadine says:

    Great recipe! Limited ingredients and it took me only a few minutes from start to finish. I rarely bake and my coffee mug cake came out just as you pictured. I’ll be taking this recipe with me when I go camping next weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

